Fastest, broadest ID
PictureThis — the largest player by far (1.1M App Store ratings) with a self-reported 400,000+ species catalogue. Treatment plans aren't labeled proven vs. anecdotal, and no live translation.
A side-by-side look at the market-leading plant ID and care apps — PictureThis, Pl@ntNet, PlantIn, and Planta, ranked here by their own independently verifiable App Store rating counts — plus where VerIQ fits. Sources for every claim are listed at the bottom.
Last updated September 15, 2026.
↔ This table has 15 columns — scroll sideways, or tap the arrow, to see them all (the app name stays put)
| App | Price | Species claim* | Symptom diagnosis | Home remedies | Progress / recovery monitoring | Weather-aware reminders | Voice / translation | Ask by voice (AI) | Vacation / travel mode | Pet & child safety | Light meter | Offline mode | Community | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PictureThis | $39.99/yr (also monthly/family) | 400,000+ (self-reported) | Yes — photo diagnosis + treatment plan | Treatment plans, not labeled proven vs. anecdotal | Not stated | Not stated | — | 24/7 expert chat, medium not specified | Not stated | Yes, explicit pet/child alerts | Yes | Not stated | — | 1.1M ratings, 4.8 |
| Pl@ntNet | Free | ~60,000 (own docs) | Not a feature by design | — | Not a feature | Not a feature | 41 languages (UI only) | Not a feature | Not a feature | Not stated | Not a feature | Yes (iOS) | Citizen-science, scientist-reviewed | 7K ratings (iOS), 4.6 |
| PlantIn | $29.99/yr or $6.99–7.99/wk | Not stated | Yes — multi-disease detection w/ highlighted areas | Care plans w/ treatment steps, not labeled proven vs. anecdotal | Not stated | Yes — storm/freeze alerts | 19 languages (UI only) | "Ask the Botanist" — human experts, text | Not stated | Not stated | Yes (AR) | Partial (mushroom ID only) | — | 229K ratings, 4.6 |
| Planta | $17.99–47.99/yr | Not stated | Yes — "Dr. Planta" symptom diagnosis | Step-by-step treatment guidance, not labeled proven vs. anecdotal | Yes — photo journal, health history | Yes — adapts to local weather | 12 languages (UI only) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes, active community | 114K ratings, 4.8 |
| VerIQthis app | Pay-as-you-go credits from $0.49 or VerIQ Plus subscription $3.99/mo · $24.99/yr — both supported, your choice | Unbenchmarked** | Disease/pest/nutrient, w/ confidence score | Yes — proven vs. anecdotal labeled | Yes — health-score trend, before/after, full diagnosis timeline, shareable video | Yes — global lat/long climate engine, plant-specific frost/heat thresholds, grouped alerts | Live voice, 31 languages | Yes — Ask Dr. VerIQ by voice or text, plant-specific context | Yes — per-plant tasks matched to trip-window weather, grouped daily notifications | Yes | Yes | None | — | 5.0 (6 ratings, new) |
* Species-count and diagnosis claims as stated on each app's own App Store listing or documentation, not measured on a common test set. ** Too new for independent benchmarking; verified on-device only so far. "Not stated" means the app's own official listing didn't mention it either way — it may still exist and just not be advertised there.
Light meters and basic reminders turn out to be common across this set; VerIQ's real edges are the plant-specific weather thresholds, AI (not human-staffed) voice Q&A, and travel-specific task handling — not the mere presence of a reminder or meter feature.
Nobody wins every column — "best" splits by job here. Each card below is shareable on its own (right-click a card's heading area link, or use the anchors in the table above).
PictureThis — the largest player by far (1.1M App Store ratings) with a self-reported 400,000+ species catalogue. Treatment plans aren't labeled proven vs. anecdotal, and no live translation.
Pl@ntNet — completely free, scientist-reviewed identification. No diagnosis, no care reminders, no toxicity warnings — it's an ID tool, not a care app.
PlantIn — highlights each affected area on a diseased plant. No stated safety warnings or live translation, and its weekly plan runs roughly $28/month if not switched to yearly.
Planta — "Dr. Planta" diagnosis plus an active peer community and an Editors' Choice badge. No stated toxicity warnings or offline mode.
The only app here combining labeled home remedies (proven vs. anecdotal), pet/child toxicity warnings, and live 31-language voice translation — on top of a full Identify → Diagnose → Garden → Reminders → Vacation Mode flow. No offline mode or community yet, and far too few reviews so far to judge accuracy against these four leaders.
Prices, feature claims, and rating counts reflect each app's official App Store listing as of September 2026 and may have changed since.
Yes. VerIQ is free to download and includes 50 introductory credits. After that, you can keep going with one-time credit packs starting at $0.49, or switch to the VerIQ Plus subscription ($3.99/mo or $24.99/yr) for unlimited identification, diagnosis, and questions — both options are supported, it's your choice.
Both. VerIQ identifies the plant, then can diagnose visible diseases, pests, and environmental stress from a photo, with a health score, confidence score, and treatment and home-remedy guidance that's labeled proven vs. anecdotal.
VerIQ is the only app in our comparison combining labeled home remedies, pet/child toxicity warnings, live 31-language voice translation, and a plant-specific weather engine for reminders and Vacation Mode. It's also the newest of the five, with far fewer reviews than the four market leaders — see the full table above for an honest, feature-by-feature breakdown.
Not currently — VerIQ needs an internet connection for identification and diagnosis, same as PictureThis, PlantIn, and Planta. Pl@ntNet is the only app in this comparison with a partial offline mode.
31 languages throughout the app, including menus, reminders, and AI-generated reports. TalkIQ adds live two-way voice translation across those same 31 languages for in-person conversations.
VerIQ includes pet-toxicity information and child/human safety warnings as part of its diagnosis and care guidance, and clearly labels anecdotal remedies as unproven.
Sources: PictureThis on the App Store · Pl@ntNet on the App Store and Pl@ntNet's own documentation · PlantIn on the App Store · Planta on the App Store · VerIQ data from its own shipped feature set and App Store listing.